The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Trick coin trickery » » Tango Steel Core Coin English Penny tarnished/shinny? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

JH5magic
View Profile
Regular user
130 Posts

Profile of JH5magic
I wanted to check in with anyone who has bought a Tango Steel Core Coin English Penny. I purchased 3 mail order that came from two different sources. All 3 have a tarnished 'head' side and a shinnier 'tail' side. It is noticibly different when you turn the coin over. I was curious if anyone else has noticed the same thing or if there is a reason for it (e.g. it can blend in better with either tarnished or newer/shinier english pennies).

Thanks,
John
Nightcrawler
View Profile
New user
80 Posts

Profile of Nightcrawler
I am not an expert in gaffed coins, but I'm pretty sure you need 2 regular coins to manufacture one steel core coin.
Probably they just took two different tarnished coins, which isn't nice indeed. My experience with Tango isn't too good either :-(

Nightcrawler
chasesummers20
View Profile
New user
Kansas City
57 Posts

Profile of chasesummers20
Tango is not my favorite. I polished my english pennies which made them really pale, so then I held them over fire to darken them again. It takes a few tries to get the color even but it works to make them the color you want.
Nightcrawler
View Profile
New user
80 Posts

Profile of Nightcrawler
Good chances that chasessummers20's way works.
But when I buy new products, I want them to be ok from the beginning. I don't know if I would put much work in it. In my optinion it's a deficiency you describe. Maybe I would ask my dealer to replace them.
Or you send them back and give the Johnson Steel Core English Penny a try...

Nightcrawler
JH5magic
View Profile
Regular user
130 Posts

Profile of JH5magic