The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Where to sell a magic trick? (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
magicalmoi
View Profile
New user
71 Posts

Profile of magicalmoi
Hi everyone I'm rather new to magic but I've created a magic trick and would like to sell it.. which website is best to try?
Tree
View Profile
Loyal user
Wiggle Wiggle
295 Posts

Profile of Tree
Before you can sell it you need to research and see if it's already been created, most have.
Then you need to research crediting moves etc.
not an easy task, you just can't think you created something and sell it to Magi.
You'll hear more from others about this...
not many people create original effects

If you really did create an original effect...congrats, but really you need to do some extra serious research before making such a statment.
B. Edwards
View Profile
New user
Ohio
50 Posts

Profile of B. Edwards
Ok, you have created a magic trick. Cool!

But...

How many times have you performed it?
What was the audience reaction?

I've had a great idea for a prediction in a (non-gimmicked) brand-new sealed bottle of water for years. My idea looks great on paper, but I've never performed it in front of an audience. Therefore, I can't measure it's true impact and value.

If you are "rather new" to magic, then you should master your creation and perform it to audiences for a while, before trying to sell it.

Brian
magicalmoi
View Profile
New user
71 Posts

Profile of magicalmoi
Thanks guys, well my trick uses little effects which other people have created I'm sure but the big effect itself hasn't been created as far as I know
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
8357 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
A well performed TRICK, produces an EFFECT. The EFFECT IS what the spectator SEES, or, THINKS that he SEES.

At least, use the proper nomenclature!