The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Magic with message (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Nustart59
View Profile
New user
3 Posts

Profile of Nustart59
Hi I am new to this and need some advice. I have been asked to do a simple presentation to 8/9yo around health & physical activity and thought it would be great to add a effect into presentation but cannot for the life of me think or find anything remotely around the topic. Any ideas on effect and possible patter??
Thanks heaps in advance.
george1953
View Profile
Inner circle
Mallorca (Spain)
5941 Posts

Profile of george1953
What kind of effect are you looking for. We need to know if its cards, coins or general magic you are talking about.
By failing to prepare, we are preparing to fail.
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
8361 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
Friend Nustart50...

There is no way that I could possibly give you any sort of respondible answer to your very broad question.

8 and 9 year olds are Cub Scout ages. At that age, the interest span is BRIEF,

Health & physical activity is an EXTREMELY BROAD TOPIC.

First, an EFFECT is "what the spectator sees, or thinks that he sees". You CANNOT add an EFFECT to a presentation. You CAN add a TRICK, which should add emphasis, or make visible, or perhaps clarify your presentation. (The presentation that I just mentioned, is NOT the PRESENTATION of the TRICK. It's the speech you are making on the topic.

Second, you must write your "simple presentation" FIRST!!!!!!!!!!!! THEN, consider whether a TRICK will help illustrate your point. The TRICK must only add emphasis, make visible, or help clarify your apeech. Used improperly, the TRICK can easily overshadow the point that you are trying to illustrate!!!