The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Do I even dare? (6 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Sir
View Profile
Loyal user
212 Posts

Profile of Sir
Hi friends,

I am an officer in the U.S. Army who has just been nominated as Master of Ceremonies for our brigade social next month. I was told to be "entertaining."

As the MC, I will have a captive audience of more than 600 people. Today I was thinking to myself, "This would be a fantastic opportunity to perform an amazing demonstration of mentalisim." The catch is I've never performed mentalisim before, let alone performed for so many spectators. I am, however, an ambitious optimist. Smile

The question is this: Do I dare perform an amazing demonstration of mentalisim for the first time in front of 600 people?

We only live once and I've been in situations that were more dire. If you were in my shoes, what is the one feat that you would perform? I just want to perform a single demonstration.

I know the temptation to reply sarcastically is nearly irresistible here, but please, serious responses only. I'm in a bit of a time crunch and if I am going to succeed, I will need to start practicing immediately.
"By the pricking of my thumbs, something wicked this way comes."
Mark_Chandaue
View Profile
Inner circle
Essex UK
4191 Posts

Profile of Mark_Chandaue
Not a sarcastic reply, an honest one that may ultimately be unhelpful. I would perform the effect that I most enjoy performing and that I am most confident of performing and that would play well to a group of that size ideally without the need to bring volunteers forward. I do have specific effects in mind that I personally would use but the key parts here are "that you enjoy performing, and are adept enough and confident enough to perform". I would not want to learn a new effect for this purpose unless I had a very good lead time to refine it.

Mark