The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » "Where do you learn from" Question (12 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Anandhu
View Profile
New user
India
5 Posts

Profile of Anandhu
When someone asks me where learned the trick from, how should I answer? I really fear to tell anyone about the books(Bobo or ECM) or that there are DVDs teaching magic! I fear they will go after it.. A simple Google search may ruin everything!

If I refuse to tell they will probably assume I'm learning from the Internet.. I really don't want them to think that way.. hate it...Any help? Have anyone asked this before?

I'm not a professional, Just a boy with a lot interest on coins...
Mb217
View Profile
Inner circle
8724 Posts

Profile of Mb217
Hi V…Welcome to the Café. Smile

People will routinely ask this question…Just say that it is "Magic." And that your grandfather taught you long ago, or something mysterious like that and leave it there. Don't entertain some spectators badgering as to it as they might nudge at you to get you to tell…Tell them nothing! And don't linger long around such folks, just do your thing and move on. The longer you keep your secrets, the longer people will enjoy your magic. When they know the secrets, they tend to be destructively/callously dismissive of your feats. Tell them nothing! Smile

They will shortly forget the little interaction and go on their way, so don't worry about it too much. Just do the magic well and it will leave them more in a since of amazement than anything else. Most of all, don't let them control the situation…YOU control it, verbally, confidently and respectfully.

Again, welcome… Smile
*Check out my latest: MBs Morgan w/ BONUS: Destiny, Copper Silver INC, Double Trouble, FlySki, Crimp Change - REDUX!, and other fine magic at gumroad.com/mb217magic Smile