The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » School assembly getting them to listen after a fun trick (12 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Danatmosci
View Profile
New user
Ogden, UT
18 Posts

Profile of Danatmosci
I did an audio recording of my last school assembly and noticed that I was having a big problem getting all the children to calm back down after doing a fun trick. My show is a lot of fun, but there are times when they can laugh and talk, and scream magic words, and there are moments where I want them to listen as I explain what is going to happen next. I've been doing assemblies for less than 6 months so I'm still very new, any advice would be extremely appreciated. Thanks
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
8363 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
Don't "explain what is going to happen next"! Kids get bored quickly by speeches.

I had a prof. in college who made a great statement one day in a discussion on communication. He said, "Some people have to say something. Some people have something to say."

Talk WITH them, not AT or TO them.
SNEAKY, UNDERHANDED, DEVIOUS,& SURREPTITIOUS ITINERANT MOUNTEBANK
Howie Diddot
View Profile
Inner circle
San Francisco & Los Angeles California
3286 Posts

Profile of Howie Diddot
If you explain what you will do next, there is no mystery of what you will do next.

As I place my last trick away; I ask if they want to see another trick?

Every kid will say yes... if they are talking, I will say I can't hear you.. and they will all yell yes louder and I have everyone's attention.

try it, you'll like it....

Then I say "watch this"... and they watch what I do...
Ed_Millis
View Profile
Inner circle
Yuma, AZ
2286 Posts

Profile of Ed_Millis
I pull up a stool, sit with my props in hand (ring and rope), and ask "Would you like to hear a story?"

Ed
drewer
View Profile
New user
NoVa
100 Posts

Profile of drewer