The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » What happened, was this... » » Sounds of Silence (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

normative
View Profile
New user
53 Posts

Profile of normative
I'm a hobbyist/amateur with the good fortune to live just off an urban traffic circle with a micro-park that serves as hangout for a melange of neighborhood old timers, hipster gentrifiers, and students from the dorms of the historically-black university around the corner. I mostly perform street magic there just for the fun of injecting a weird moment into the evenings of strangers. (I can tell I'm succeeding with the college kids if they say: "Can I Snapchat/Instagram this?")

Recently, maybe inspired by my longtime love of Teller's work and that of magicians in the Georges Melies vein, I decided I'd experiment with doing this in total silence. For a variety of reasons, this is probably not an attractive strategy for professional walk-around magicians (who don't happen to be accompanied by Penn Jilette) but for my own purposes, I was quite pleased by the results. For one, I found people actually paid much MORE attention. Partly because instead of some rando walking up to ask "can I show you something?" it was the most interested member of the group doing all the talking (obliging that person's friends to pay at least cursory attention, which they properly don't necessarily feel any need to do for a stranger who's just walked up) as they work through my pantomimes — "You want me to say stop? OK... and... now I sign that card?" Partly because in context the refusal to speak automatically creates a faintly otherworldly "what's happening here? what planet is this guy from?" atmosphere.