The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The spooky, the mysterious...the bizarre! » » New to the dark ways (8 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Jon Rees
View Profile
New user
Swansea, Wales
15 Posts

Profile of Jon Rees
Hello,
As a newbie I thought I'd introduce myself.

My name is Jon and I've had an interest in magic since a child, but always found I lacked the dexterity for cards and the like. What little magic I have managed has always been one with a good story behind it rather than an impressive slight, etc. I have always loved performing (on stage etc. as I do am dram) and storytelling and have had an interest in darker things since a kid - ghosts, vampires, murders (I'm a Ripperologist and have studied the Jack the Ripper case for over 10 years, have written articles and spoken at conferences and next week am presenting a theatrical piece about the Ripper case).

I'd like to read up on the thinking behind designing dark effects. Does someone start with the story and design an effect around it or vide versa?
PROF BC
View Profile
Inner circle
1445 Posts

Profile of PROF BC
Jon:
Welcome to Spooky. You will find we are a friendly (albeit dark) bunch.

To answer your question, it goes both ways. Sometimes you have a stellar effect that you merely 'dress up' in dark weeds (altering the look of the prop, if necessary, and giving it a dark and fascinating background tale). Other times, you might have a great story to tell that would be greatly improved with an effect that you either scout about to find or develop on your own to enhance the telling.

In either case, the story is king.

Welcome again, Jon. I am certain further elaboration and additional ideas are forthcoming by way of merry greetings to you . . . standby!

BC
Phasmologist
YitzhakNoDice
View Profile
Special user
Portland, Oregon
517 Posts

Profile of YitzhakNoDice