The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Deckless! » » Does packet trick practice 'wear out' cards? (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MagicSarah
View Profile
Regular user
Kent, United Kingdom
195 Posts

Profile of MagicSarah
Hello!

An E*****y C**** newbie here. I'm learning off Liam Montier's dvd which is great.

It was looking pretty good - but seems stickier and less successful now despite lots more practice.

Obviously I have lots more work to do, and I'm sure someone with more experience can perform with cards in any state- but should I be regularly changing the packet of cards I am using to practice with? Or does it make no difference at all?

Thanks! Smile
MGordonB
View Profile
Loyal user
Toronto, Canada
279 Posts

Profile of MGordonB
Based on my experience with EC, I would say to a certain extent yes.

I use Bicycles and I found that after practicing with the same cards for quite a while my EC wouldn't be quite as smooth. The cards stuck together just a bit.

The corollary to that is that brand new cards are just a bit too slippery and I don't have as good control with the EC move.

There seems to be a bit of a sweet spot between "too new" and "too old"
MagicSarah
View Profile
Regular user
Kent, United Kingdom
195 Posts

Profile of MagicSarah
Yes, less smooth is exactly it, they catch which is a big problem for the b**** p*** o** step.

Thank you. I will try with some others and see how I get on then.

I'm sure the issue is mainly mine - but want to give myself the best possible chance of success! Smile
Poof-Daddy
View Profile
Inner circle
Considering Stopping At Exactly
5313 Posts

Profile of Poof-Daddy