The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Annoying audience (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

BBBlackmon
View Profile
New user
2 Posts

Profile of BBBlackmon
So, I'm fairly new to the world of card magic but I have already noticed a common trend among spectators(especially those younger than 18) to want to call out how they think a trick is done. I teach school and sometimes close my classes with a trick but every time some student in the back will call out "it was a double lift!" What do you do in similar situations? Is this just a growing trend?
Aus
View Profile
Special user
Australia
997 Posts

Profile of Aus
If you find this sort of thing happening with the majority of people you perform for and not just a select group then there are a few things to consider.

Firstly consider the tricks you perform and shine a spotlight on them to see of any of these statements can be preempted. In my opinion particular tricks elect particular responses, if I make a coin vanish I would come to expect a response like "where did it go?" or "bring it back", if I did and T&R card I would expect a request for examination. If the method employed would prevent me doing any of these things then I would question if the version of the trick I'm using is the best for this effect.

Secondly I would see if I could develop conditions in performance real or not to see if you can counteract some of the natural thoughts that are being reflected by your audience. If I have a gaffed packet trick that can't be examined then I would set the same cards up with an ungaffed set and switch out for the gaffs after the ungaffed cards had been examined. If I made a coin vanish and they think I just dropped it down my sleeve I would start the trick with my sleeve rolled up.