The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Going for the 'Gold' » » Should I compete (5 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

asif
View Profile
New user
70 Posts

Profile of asif
I don't know whether this is the right place to post. But anyway here's my post.

Hello guys, I have been practicing magic for quite a few months now. So one of the reputed college in our country is having a magic competition as a part of its college fest. So what do you guys think. Should I go for a competition only when I'm having years of practice or should I take it as a learning opportunity and go right now. Please guide me in the right way.
PS: I do close up magic ( coin and TT especially, so I'm planning an act with these in focus)
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
8357 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
I've only "been practicing (and performing) magic for quite a few YEARS now." (Seventy plus , to be perfectly honest.)

I'm a retired (and a bit tired) old professional magician. If you go, planning to compete, the odds are that you will be hopelessly out classed.

I would suggest that you consider it, a learning opportunity; go to observe and learn.
SNEAKY, UNDERHANDED, DEVIOUS,& SURREPTITIOUS ITINERANT MOUNTEBANK
Colin johnson
View Profile
New user
Mishawaka, IN
64 Posts

Profile of Colin johnson
The passion and ambition is a good thing. I'd say go and watch what people do learn the competition and prep for mayb next year.
Viking Erik
View Profile
New user
8 Posts

Profile of Viking Erik
Reconnaissance first. Go watch & learn. See what you're up against & then evaluate going back next year.
What are the rules: How many minutes to perform? Stage? Close-up? Anything? How many effects do most perform or is it only allowed to do 1?
Who's the audience? If it's done annually it'll be back in just a year....
asif
View Profile
New user
70 Posts

Profile of asif