The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Next Steps (4 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
sam___
View Profile
New user
20 Posts

Profile of sam___
Hi all, I would like some advice. I'm a newcomer to mentalism but I am familiar with the basic texts (13 steps and PME). I have also read some more modern tests, Bairn and Mitox (and Yokai) and loved them. As I am just getting started in mentalism but not a complete beginner, what would you recommend I read/watch next? (I'm looking for more stage/parlour stuff)

Cheers,

Sam
E.E.
View Profile
Inner circle
Look mom, I have
1534 Posts

Profile of E.E.
Have you REALLY read 13 steps? That's an accomplishment in itself.

My recommendation is go read Bob Cassidy's Artful Mentalism 2.

THEN go back to 13 steps.
Professional mentalist and digital artist for mystery performers. check out my work at www.facebook.com/EverElizaldeArtStudio
the Sponge
View Profile
Inner circle
Atlanta
2776 Posts

Profile of the Sponge
Why do you need to read/watch more? You have enough; go practice and perform.

s
sam___
View Profile
New user
20 Posts

Profile of sam___
Quote:
On Nov 15, 2016, E.E. wrote:
Have you REALLY read 13 steps? That's an accomplishment in itself.

My recommendation is go read Bob Cassidy's Artful Mentalism 2.

THEN go back to 13 steps.

I've read it in the same sense that everyone else who has it, has. It did get me introduced with some of the basic techniques but found the routines to be too outdated for my liking
innercirclewannabe
View Profile
Inner circle
Ireland
1597 Posts

Profile of innercirclewannabe
I agree with the Sponge. You have plenty to be going on with. I would think that the more you learn and perform Mentalism, the more you might disagree with your latter comment about the routines in 13 steps are too outdated.

Classics NEVER get outdated.
Tá sé ach cleas má dhéanann tú sé cuma mhaith ar cheann.