The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Mentalism Books and Resources (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Hakaput
View Profile
New user
65 Posts

Profile of Hakaput
I am a hobbyist magician and desire to be a jack-all-trades and impromptu magician.

I have neglected mentalism so far and thus I am wondering what books and resources are out there for mentalism.
Ideally any resource I would get would be good for all ranges of experience. So that I could both learn the basics and some more advanced techniques.

I realize there are other threads on this topic, but all of the ones I saw were around 10 years old. I also realize that in most areas of magic the classics are older than then years old but I thought I would see if the recommended books from old threads are still recommend today.
Alexxander
View Profile
Elite user
Frankfurt, Germany
423 Posts

Profile of Alexxander
There is literally a thread like this every few weeks, if not more.

I have two questions for you:

Do you really want to be a jack of all trades? Seriously?

What interests you about mentalism?
Hakaput
View Profile
New user
65 Posts

Profile of Hakaput
Alexxander upon further review you are correct that there are more recent threads on this. The either I do not know how to use the Café search feature well or it ought to be improved. I used the search feature rather than manually looking through the pages to see if this topic was done recently.

Yes I would like to be a jack-of-all trades. I know that that means that I won't truly master any branch of magic, but because I like Impromptu magic learning a little of everything appeals to me very much. That said I am currently by far a card magician and am just starting into Coin magic.