The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The Society of American Magicians! » » Parent assembly (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

kkaiser343
View Profile
New user
9 Posts

Profile of kkaiser343
I am new to magic again. I did some as a preteen than discovered girls. I wasnt good enough to use magic to woo them so I found other means. Now I am 54 and getting back into some sleight of hand stuff and thought I would join SAM just to meet some like minded people. The local Assembly (NYC) wants a few tricks to be inducted. I have NOTHING that they have not seen a million times before and done much better..what do you people think??
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
8357 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
Ha! I remember Kay Kaiser (and, "his kollege of musical knowledge") was a "big band" leader of my youth! ('40s)

I remember you, too. SAM membership should not be anything to worry about.

According to Dariel Fizkee, there are 18 (or 19, I forget) EFFECTS. The EFFECT is "what the spectator(s) perceive when the magician performs a TRICK"! There are only a gezillion or so TRICKS.

Back in the '40s, when I was a high school kid, my mentors told me: "It aint WHAT ya do--it's HOW ya do it!" --i.e.: It's your PRESENTATION, not the TRICK, that creates the MAGIC. The MAGIC only "happens" in the spectator(s) mind(s). --And, MAGIC is NOT INHERENTLY ENTERTAINING! Your PRESENTATION must create the MAGIC, AND, the ENTERTAINMENT!

Over the years, I've attended--and, lectured--at a "whole bunch" of Assemblies and Rings, all over the USA, plus lectured at a "few" national conventions (even twice at the Magic Castle (oooh!). .999% of those I've met or know, are "good guys".

I remember that you were a firefighter, and, you have a problem "hitchhiking". So! Do a couple of bits that you've done since forever!