The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Studying under someone (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MySurvive
View Profile
New user
Raleigh, NC
29 Posts

Profile of MySurvive
Hey everyone,

I'm very new to magic. I know you can self-learn (RRCM, Tarbell, etc.), but I see tons of people that say that they trained under (insert name here).

A) Is training under someone almost considered a pre-requisite to become more accomplished/revered in the magic community?
B) When do you start training under someone? (i.e. should you find someone to work with you asap or should you be building foundations in magic first?)
C) How exactly do you approach someone when that time comes?

Thanks!
Aus
View Profile
Special user
Australia
997 Posts

Profile of Aus
I'll re-post some advice I gave another Café member some time ago who was asking the the same question as I think it applies to your questions about mentors.

First we need to define what makes a good mentor and in my opinion the elements of a good Mentor are they’re accessible. They take time. They lead by example. They communicate. They are respected by others, and they show respect. You also want to learn and grow by facing your flaws and ignorance of some of the worldly perspectives that surround you, So, try to find a mentor who will challenge your thinking and show you there might be a different way to approach a problem, or even an additional approach you never knew existed.

So how do you find a Mentor like this?

For some people, a formal process of seeking out a mentor is the best way to go, but by my own observations about mentor relationships is that the best ones seem to grow organically, rather than being an arranged marriage.

If you do go out and seek a mentor Don’t ask for the person to “be your mentor” right off the bat. That’s a big ask. Far too big for the first meeting.