The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » Help with Johnson purchase... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
jbdeen
View Profile
New user
7 Posts

Profile of jbdeen
I am a newbie and while sleights are the ultimate goal, I want a Johnson coin effect to have some instant fun. Johnson seems to be the name in quality gaffed coins (beside custom made sets).

My question is, which Johnson coin set provides the most visual, strongest effects? Secondly, which set is most versatile (i.e. most effects)? Thirdly, which sets (if any) are instantly resettable? I guess that's three questions, but if someone could give me some insight as to where to go on this I'd appreciate it...

I'm considering Scotch and Soda, Hopping Half, Stack of Quarters, Dime and Penny, S/C/B Transposition and $1.35 trick.

BTW, I know there are topics covering these separately, but I'm interested in hearing from folks who have had most of these sets and can COMPARE them as described in the first paragraph.

Thanks guys!

JB
(My first post!)
sleightofhander
View Profile
Special user
618 Posts

Profile of sleightofhander
If you get the Hopping Half Set you'll get some other great gadgets with it. Also a copper/silver coin will go a long way.
leefoley3
View Profile
Elite user
Texas
402 Posts

Profile of leefoley3
I would recommend Scotch & Soda the Millenium Edition. It's the one that uses the newer Golden Dollar and a newer quarter (the State ones).

Being that the Golden Dollar did not go over well in area, I use that as part of my presentation. I tell the spectators that the Golden Dollar didn't catch on because there is a flaw in the design...and go from there.

I still have an older set (half dollar and Centavo) but I use the newer version more often. The main reason I would suggest this set is that it is versatile. I'm not saying the others are not. I don't own any of the others.