The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Not very magical, still... » » Gerald's Game (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Cliffg37
View Profile
Inner circle
Long Beach, CA
2491 Posts

Profile of Cliffg37
Anyone see the Netflix movie that just came out Gerald's Game? The Stephen King book it was based on was written years ago, and King himself made the comment it will probably be a movie one day. Well, now it is.

Basic premise (no spoiler really) Hubby has a heart attack and dies during a sex game, leaving his helpless wife chained to the bed.

I thought the story was great. (I love King after all)
I thought the adaptation was well done for a less than two hour movie
The acting was great, and better still believable.
After seeing the movie, the plan I have long had for how she might have escaped (remember I am an escape artist) seems less plausible.
Overall I enjoyed it.

I was left with the same question that I had after reading the book. How often does something like that happen for real? Every now and then you read about some bondage mishap in which the person restrained dies accidentally, but I've never read about the other person dying and leaving the restrained partner stuck to fend for themselves.

I do remember an audio file that was out on YouTube a while back of a panicked priest calling 911 to his church as he had handcuffed himself and was trapped.
Magic is like Science,
Both are fun if you do it right!
Orville Smith
View Profile
New user
87 Posts

Profile of Orville Smith
If you are referring to the Father Donovan case, I do not think he had handcuffed himself. Because he also had on a leather bondage mask with a metal bar in his mouth.
balducci
View Profile
Loyal user
Canada
227 Posts

Profile of balducci
Quote:
On Oct 1, 2017, Orville Smith wrote: