The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Are Your Magic Reviews Even Legal? FTC and Ethical Guidelines (10 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Kasey Logan
View Profile
New user
25 Posts

Profile of Kasey Logan
Years ago (read before life got crazy with 4 kids) I was a social media manager, and virtual assistant full time. I also did product reviews to bring in supplementary income, and get cool crap for free. With that said there are some sticky legal and ethical issues when it comes to reviews. Ethical and legal reviews are imperative for the mentalism community when the exact product cannot be spelled out in detail and the description of the effects themselves tend to be vague by necessity.

I know a lot of people may not realize there are laws surrounding reviews (even the one's casually left on Amazon), so there is absolutely no judgement from me when it comes to reviews you may have personally written/recorded in the past.

Creators should encourage their reviewers to be as ethical as possible and I would love to see them share FTC guidelines (or just copy this list, I don't care anything for more honest reviews) whenever they send someone a new product. If we can't trust reviewers in this community then it increases the risk when we try a new creator or product. More ethical reviews lead to more sales, period. (This is why Amazon guidelines became so strict, and they often cull reviews that are suspect, Amazon knows if you can't trust the reviews you won't buy.)

If you've published reviews in the past, and realize they aren't legal/ethical I encourage you to go in and edit them. Reviews are an, incredibly important service. I appreciate everyone who takes the time and sometimes money to do them. They become all the more valuable when they follow the legal and ethical guidelines set out by the FTC.

How to tell if your mentalism/magic review is probably legal