The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Gaffed & Funky » » Svengali yet again (6 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

docguitarman
View Profile
Special user
Thousand Oaks, California
888 Posts

Profile of docguitarman
I'm a returning amateur after half a century hiatus Smile Just bought a bunch of effects that I had as a youth, one of which was a Svengali Deck with Rider back Bicycles. I thought, yay! much better than Fox Lake from back in the day. Also, I know enough these days not to use the Svengali in ways that brings heat on the deck you are using (i.e. no "hey look" all the cards are now the same ! "Hey Look" now they are all different ! Smile )

Unfortunately the deck I got is terribly cut. No rounded corners, and clearly only one side has been modified so the back border is quite noticeably out of whack, asymmetric. Also the trim is more than 1/16" -- yuck.

In the routines I intend to use I would like the spectator to be able to handle the card. So this deck fails. I need a better deck.

Long story short -- I want a "perfectly" cut deck for the f*e card. I found a Blue Back Official USPCC Bicycle Svengali deck cut by USPCC at one magic vendor. But I can't seem to find any other vendor that carries them. Also I'd like a Red back.

It seems that they are discontinued? Does anyone know if USPCC is still making their official Svengali decks? It seems those are the ones I want, unless there are other professional Svengali decks from other suppliers. Any info would be appreciated.

In the mean time I'll use the one I have for mere practice of routines.
docguitarman
View Profile
Special user
888 Posts

Profile of docguitarman
Oh, forgot to ask. Has anyone here handled the USPCC cut Svengali? How does it rate?
mlippo
View Profile
Inner circle
Trieste (Italy)
1227 Posts

Profile of mlippo
I have no personal experience with 'em, but maybe the Phoenix Svengali is what you're looking for ...