The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Rings, strings & things » » Ring space change (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Joeni
View Profile
New user
Germany
73 Posts

Profile of Joeni
Is there anyone here having done a routine like the one following? Two linking rings separated, then linked and in a third step the two linked rings are changed to one ring of the double space. I'm looking for some ideas if anyone has done something the like or can give me a hint where to look further for this effect. My first idea would be to change the two rings to another one of the double space which is first "folded" to the same space as the two rings, but I dunno where to get sth like this "foldable" ring. Btw. I'm a beginner to magic, since I started doing magic again (after two decades without) in the last summer.
tonsofquestions
View Profile
Inner circle
1807 Posts

Profile of tonsofquestions
What is a "ring of the double space"? Perhaps a picture would help.
I don't understand this term, so it's hard to say if it's been done before, or suggest where you could get one.
Joeni
View Profile
New user
Germany
73 Posts

Profile of Joeni
Well, what I actually meant was the ring size. I'm sorry for the wrong expression. It's late and my first language is German. What I'd like to show in that routine is that the two rings are melted together to one big ring
tonsofquestions
View Profile
Inner circle
1807 Posts

Profile of tonsofquestions
Ahh, now I understand what you mean by "double the space" - you meant double the space inside the ring (not really idiomatic, but I understand it better), but yes, double the ring size would have been clearer.

There are a few other effects that do that, such as http://www.penguinmagic.com/p/2823. I think I recall seeing another one, but I can't find it again at the moment. You could do something similar, just starting with two rings that matched, instead of one.