The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » The One Behind Principle (5 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
daniel116
View Profile
Regular user
196 Posts

Profile of daniel116
Hi guys
I was first introduced to the one behind principle watching Jay Sankey's "Mexican Jumping Beans" coins across routine, later I studied David Williamson's "When you're behind, you're ahead" routine, a three coins production-vanish-production routine. I saw the principle being used in a Robert Moreland routine as well.
I played around with the principle for a lot of time, but could never find a good use for it.
I found that if you just show people how you count three coins as two, they're really amazed and will always ask you to do it again and again, so for some time I used to just do that, mainly for friends and family, never in a professional event.
A few days ago I was playing around with the idea and came up with a completely out of context ending to an on the spot made up routine, and found that it got great reactions, so here it is:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5K4lmSpv4Xg
and here's a semi-live performance:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9IxG7RwxYeE
OliveroG
View Profile
Regular user
167 Posts

Profile of OliveroG
Ok that was unexpected. Loved the idea!
I hope you understand, my dear friend, that everything you are seeing is a lie, but everything you are feeling holds true.
funsway
View Profile
Inner circle
old things in new ways - new things in old ways
9987 Posts

Profile of funsway
I have used this approach in various effects for many years. My favorite 3Fly ditches one coin and finishes with only two shown as three. (Uses as TUC)
The easiest coin to vanish is one that never was.

Consider that the use of an EXP [ can allow you to be either one ahead or one behind at will - depending on how the effect is framed.