The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The spooky, the mysterious...the bizarre! » » Spirit by Dead Art Inc. - Review (4 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

TimonK
View Profile
Veteran user
Amsterdam
351 Posts

Profile of TimonK
Hey there,

this is my review for "Spirit" by Dead Art Inc., sold by Lebanon Circle. You can find the link to the original product at the bottom of this post.

On paper, this coin seemed like a perfect fit for a routine I had been doing with a standard coin for several years. Unfortunately, the actual product does not deliver at all. At best it's very, very sloppy craftsmanship. What was advertised as "individually crafted and detailed by hand to produce a perfectly aged artifact of heirloom quality" in reality looks more like it was painted by children's hands. I have attached photos of both sides and you'll see what I mean. The actual coin misses all the details and finesse seen in the advertisement photos that had drawn me to it originally.
The "YES" is not clear at all, the skeleton seems to be missing it's 'tail' (what happened? did that part break off? It seems like part of the metal is missing and it was just painted over, so maybe something went wrong while producing the coin?), the "NO" side has a golden-ish smudge at the top, the edge is basically brushed over with black. I can only assume that in this case "aged" was taken to mean "sprayed a base of silver and then painted some matte black on". Makes the proud Certificate of Authenticity seem slightly ironic. Very disappointing, especially at 80pounds.
Maybe not all hope is lost: I might try to get the paint off the coin and then re-do and age it myself, possibly trying to corrode it a bit - the size and weight of the coin are quite nice. It's bigger than expected, but I quite like that actually. If anyone here has any experience with that, I'd appreciate a PM Smile