The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The spooky, the mysterious...the bizarre! » » Perpetua's Tears (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Caspar
View Profile
Veteran user
Tacoma
316 Posts

Profile of Caspar
I am new at this, what do you folks think?

Have you ever heard of Perpetua? She was a Christian Martyr that was fed to the lions at the Coliseum in Rome. It is said that as Perpetua was torn apart her tears turned to crystal stone. Nantus, a caretaker of the Coliseum took several of these crystal stones, the tears of Perpetua and sold them to Christian beleivers. It is said that the crystal stones had remarkable properties. They conveyed to the bearer peace and courage. Another fantastic story regarding these tears of stone is that when held by a person who was pure of heart the crystal stones would undergo a phenomena like stigmata by turning red. It is said that the Knights of Templar would ride into battle with these stones to give them courage to face the cold steel of scimatars.

Only a few of those stones exist today. Are you pure of heart? Here, hold the stone. Hold onto it tightly. Think of Perpetua. Can you hear her cries as the lions tear her flesh? Can you see her tears falling upon the dust of the Coliseum floor? Can you feel the Stone Start to change? Open your hand. I thought that you were one of pure and noble heart.

The set up for this is to have a clear glass bead or stone held between the thumb and first two fingers or you right hand. Also have a red glass stone or bead fingerpalmed in your right hand. As you tell the story place the clear stone onto the palm of left hand and just drop your right hand to your side. Don't worry, the spectator does not know what is going to hit them.

When you get to the part "Only a few of these stones exist today" pick the stone up with your right hand, again held between the thumb and the first two fingers.