The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » Handling kids that know you (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Sophocles
View Profile
Regular user
188 Posts

Profile of Sophocles
I'm an amateur who has only done a few performances outside of friends and family. I did a birthday party that went really well. My own 5yr old and 3yr old were also invited at the party. Fortunately, my wife was around and helped manage them. I was wondering how you handle parties where 3-4 kids may know you beforehand and are not behaving. (Perhaps because they know you, or have seen the effects before). Kids that don't know you I feel are easier to handle.
Thank you in advance for your thoughts.
Russo
View Profile
Special user
618 Posts

Profile of Russo
Im sorry - in the 50's-70's - kids were pretty good- now with all the kid violence on TV, etc- it may be harder?? its been a while. At that time I use to say -I know it too-- or lets you and I keep it a secret so we can fool your friends - just being WILD is whats happening now, with NO-ONE teaching the kids -inclding Parents and teachers.
randyburtis
View Profile
Inner circle
1257 Posts

Profile of randyburtis
Cut it off before it happens. Approach th4m before the show and tell them they are leaders and need to set a good example. Tell them they will see some stuff they have seen but a good leader and friend won't spoil it for their friends...
Randy Burtis
Calgary's Kid Show Magician
www.calgarymagician.com
www.Facebook.com/calgarymagician
TheAmbitiousCard
View Profile
Eternal Order
Northern California
13350 Posts

Profile of TheAmbitiousCard
Everybody performs for people they know at first. It's usually a pain in the butt.

as you get better kids will naturally respect you more and won't behave like that.
as you get better you'll learn lines and bits that shut that **** down.