The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » You are getting sleepy...very sleepy... » » Structuring a Hypnosis Show for Newbies (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
ThomasIndigo
View Profile
New user
93 Posts

Profile of ThomasIndigo
Hi all,

I am a mentalist (former magician) of nearly a decade.

I've been studying hypnosis for the past 3 months or so. I've spoken with a couple of professional hypnotists, read most of McGill's New Encyclopedia of Stage Hypnotism at least once (while rereading various portions after watching recordings of hypnosis shows), and have successfully performed a few demonstrations of waking hypnosis and hypnotic tests (magnetic fingers has been a favorite).
I recently completed a successful induction on a volunteer, and tried a short set of suggestions that worked very well (metal bar in arm, telling somebody to "please be quiet" when they sneeze instead of saying "bless you", feeling extremely relaxed).

I would like to design a stage hypnosis show and would appreciate some input from some of the seasoned pros on this forum.
Do you have any advice on how to structure one's show?
Do you have any advice on designing original routines? My understanding is that as long as the suggestions are clear and within reason, basically anything is possible.
How can I know if I am on the right track to develop my hypnosis skills?

Thanks in advance guys. I'd love to be able to do this art form justice.

Best,
Tom
Dannydoyle
View Profile
Eternal Order
21263 Posts

Profile of Dannydoyle
You are definitely on the right track.

A few questions just for clarity if you don't mind?

How long a show do you want to design? Do you want to do serious demonstrations or more lean to comedy?

What venue are you looking to work in once you have your show?

NONE of this is bad questions, or accusatory just want to get a feel for your goals is all.
Danny Doyle
<BR>Semper Occultus