The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » I'm new(ish) to Magic and Performing, wanting some advice on nerves (11 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Remythologizing
View Profile
New user
2 Posts

Profile of Remythologizing
So, I've been practicing magic for about 7-8 months, and have done a few performances for extended family and did one effect once for some friends.

I, however, find that when I perform it never seems to be on my terms which seems to throw me off, I couldn't imagine what would happen if I met a hustler as my style at the moment is kinda bland and plain. Any tips for this? It's not that I struggle performing sleights, it's just my lack of explanation and how random my patter is. I always find myself after an effect thinking "OK that went decently, maybe if I . . ." how can I stop this? Tips or ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance, Remyth.
danaruns
View Profile
Special user
The City of Angels
808 Posts

Profile of danaruns
There is a lot about your post I don't understand, like the "on my terms" bit, and the reference to a "hustler." What I do get is that your style is "kinda bland and plain," and your magic has a "lack of explanation" and "random patter."

I suggest that the first thing you do is write scripts for every trick you perform. Write them, rewrite them, and then memorize them and say them word for word when you perform. And do not fall into the trap of narrating your moves. By narrating I mean saying things like, "Now I'll put your card back in the deck and shuffle, then we'll cut the cards, now I'll deal five cards into a pile..." etc.