The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » Starting up (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

oliverjoy
View Profile
New user
england
27 Posts

Profile of oliverjoy
I have been learning and performing card and close up magic for two years and have never done any street magic as it were, and was wondering does any one have any tips for approching and performing for people on the street? I hope you can help.
Thanks
olver joy
Kozmo
View Profile
V.I.P.
5367 Posts

Profile of Kozmo
Buy the Cellini DVD

The art of street performing

koz
Joe Mansfield
View Profile
Loyal user
225 Posts

Profile of Joe Mansfield
I did walk around at a festival once and it was difficult to approach. I finally bit the bullet and grabbed a couple as they walked by and did the watch steal and moved into sponge balls. Within 2 minutes a crowd had gathered and I waited till the end of the set to give the watch back. Most of the spectators never saw me touch the girl. I still use this method.
wayno
View Profile
Veteran user
Canada
323 Posts

Profile of wayno
Cellini's DVD is definitely a must have. As well, I'm reading Claflin and Sheridan's Street Magic right now and am finding it a huge source of inspiration.

But don't forget to read every thread in this forum. It is a goldmine of information.
Wayne Stevenson
The SpookClub
http://www.spookclub.com
Pete Biro
View Profile
1933 - 2018
18558 Posts

Profile of Pete Biro
I feel the way is to just go there and start doing something... learn how YOU work, learn how YOU entertain... it may take time, but it will be time well spent.
STAY TOONED... @ www.pete-biro.com
Blackpool
View Profile
New user
Kingston, Ontario
31 Posts

Profile of Blackpool
Have something else you can do besides cards. One unexpected gust of wind can ruin a routine or scatter your whole act down the street. The only thing you want to be blown away is your audience.
The Amazing Blackpool