The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » How to find audiences other than family and friends? (6 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3 [Next]
Bob G
View Profile
Inner circle
2831 Posts

Profile of Bob G
Hi folks,

I've been working on magic for about 2 and a half years. I'm not intermediate, but I'm a few notches past beginner. Most of what I've done is study and practice of sleights and tricks. I've performed occasionally for family and a few friends, but , to be honest, the idea of performing outside that rather small circle really scares me. One wise Café member told me that I just need to go out there and get busted -- thus increasing my confidence when I realize that the world doesn't end when I mess up.

But -- how do I find an audience? At feel at a bit of an impasse. I want to start small -- just a few spectators at a time -- and I don't want to just go up to strangers on the street and ask them if they'd be willing to help me advance my magic.

I guess my first step is to put together a small set of really well-rehearsed tricks, which I'm working on. But what then?

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Bob
danaruns
View Profile
Special user
The City of Angels
808 Posts

Profile of danaruns
Where do you live, Bob?
"Dana Douglas is the greatest magician alive. Plus, I'm drunk." -- Foster Brooks
Bob G
View Profile
Inner circle
2831 Posts

Profile of Bob G
Hi Dana,

Lancaster, PA, 70 mi. West of Philly. Have anything in mind? I was born and raised in Chicago -- don't know if Burger's school existed in the seventies when I had my first bout of magic fever... Of course, that's water under the bridge.

Bob
Bob G
View Profile
Inner circle
2831 Posts

Profile of Bob G
Hi again, Dana,

I know not much time has passed, but I was curious why you asked where I live.

Bob
Mindpro
View Profile
Eternal Order
10606 Posts

Profile of Mindpro