The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Teaching sponge balls (4 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

gomerel
View Profile
Elite user
451 Posts

Profile of gomerel
I have a class of seniors. They are smart people and not senile. Last week they picked up Professor's Nightmare quickly. But I have trouble teaching people sponge balls, specifically passe passe. I don't know why. I know I am a good teacher. But this has me stumped. Any suggestions? IM me if you like.
davidpaul$
View Profile
Inner circle
Pittsburgh, Pa
2820 Posts

Profile of davidpaul$
What's YOUR definition of Passe-passe regarding sponge balls?
If you can't help worrying, remember worrying can't help you!
gomerel
View Profile
Elite user
451 Posts

Profile of gomerel
danaruns
View Profile
Special user
The City of Angels
771 Posts

Profile of danaruns
Is it the retention vanish that is giving them trouble? If so, it's not you.

I helped Mark Wilson teach magic at the Magic Castle for a few years, and in the Magic I classes this was the most difficult sleight for new magic students to learn to do well. It takes both hands working at once doing different things, which is hard, and it makes the brain ignore something that it is working hard to accomplish. It would often take time and individual attention to teach them the vanish. And I'd have them pass the ball for real several times, studying every aspect of how they move, and then have them do the vanish and try to make their hands move in the same way as when they really did it. Sometimes I'd have to take it one hand at a time, and then put them together. It's just not easy for some folks to learn.

I feel your pain.
"Dana Douglas is the greatest magician alive. Plus, I'm drunk." -- Foster Brooks
funsway
View Profile
Inner circle
old things in new ways - new things in old ways
8308 Posts

Profile of funsway