The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » Greeting & Salutations Magic Café (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

42yo_Magic_Abecedarian
View Profile

0 Posts

Profile of 42yo_Magic_Abecedarian
Good day friends. My name is Jason I am 42 years old and I am a magic rookie. I grew up loving to play poker and fell in love with magic when I read Harry Houdini's biography when I was in middle school. Although I never practiced I loved watching it and really appreciated the craftsmanship that great magicians have and the effect they can have on people of all ages. About a month ago I was in a local costume store and they had some small magic tricks and some decks of cards and I bought some marked cards and started playing with it and next thing you know I have The Royal Road to Card Magic, Expert at the card table, and Expert Technique along with some coin magic books. I have defintely caught the magic bug. I am really interested in close up magic with cards and coins. I know I am probably not the norm as most of you have probably been doing this since you were a young lad but hopefully an old dog can learn new tricks and old tricks for that matter. Smile Well I look forward to chatting some of you up for advice and possibly some critiquing.
Mary Mowder
View Profile
Inner circle
Sacramento / Elk Grove, CA
3662 Posts

Profile of Mary Mowder
Welcome 42yo_Magic_Abecedarian,

And welcome to Magic.

The local Magic Shop where I live (Grand Illusions) is also a costume shop. I know that some of the costume clients are turned towards the Magic side because Steve Johnson and his parents have a positive and guiding way with curious potential Magicians. I'm glad to hear you had such an experience.

I would caution you about poker and marked cards. LOL Way more dangerous than Magic tricks.

-Mary Mowder
jimhlou
View Profile
Inner circle
3698 Posts

Profile of jimhlou