We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » Legal or not? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Jeff Alan
View Profile
New user
Georgia
88 Posts

Profile of Jeff Alan
Hi,

I see lots of discussions at the Café about using royalty-free music in your show. I have never thought about this before. I do not use royalty-free music. I use lots of music, if I own the CD can I not use it in my show? I always thought that as long as you weren't using it on TV or radio you could do what you want with it. Is that true? Maybe not?

Thanks.
Aim high and you won't get your shoes wet.
edfliss
View Profile
New user
St. Louis, MO
58 Posts

Profile of edfliss
Read the fine print on your CDs. They are not licensed for public performance. I am not a copyright lawyer and there are some gray areas involved. There is also the matter of what you can get away with versus what is legal and ethical.

Are you playing a show where people buy tickets? What is your venue? Some venues have umbrella licenses (any business that routinely plays copyrighted music probably has such a license--does a DJ play there--does he have his own license or does the venue). It there is no license and someone is selling tickets there is probably a copyright violation.

Are you performing in a public place. Even if the event is free, if total strangers can walk up and be part of the audience, it is probably a copyright violation.

The gray area is in private parties. Are you performing in someone's living room in front of invited guests? Ask your lawyer!

There is so much good royatly free music out there. Be creative and be original. You can always be on the right side of the law and your own conscience if you use royalty free music.

Ed
p.b.jones
View Profile
Inner circle
Milford Haven. Pembrokeshire wales U.K.
2642 Posts

Profile of p.b.jones
HI,