The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Seeking trick for classroom demonstration (5 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

djb281
View Profile
New user
2 Posts

Profile of djb281
I'm a philosophy professor looking for a magic trick to perform as an in-class demonstration. The goal is to get students to remember that two distinct things can still be qualitatively indistinguishable from each other.

I was thinking that I could do it by performing and then revealing a magic trick in which what is presented to the audience as one object is actually two qualitatively indistinguishable objects, or vice versa. For example, it could be that what appears to be a single ball moving by magic from one location to another was actually just two different balls. Or it could be that I seem to keep pulling impossibly many scarves out of my pocket, but really it's just the same one over and over, or something like that. Anyway, I was hoping someone here might have a suggestion--even just a phrase to search for in google.

A classic trick that everyone knows is fine, but it does need to be a stage trick for a classroom with 200 students. I'm not a magician, so it needs to be easy to perform, and hopefully something that doesn't require any specialized props. (I could probably buy something inexpensive if needed.) Any suggestions would be very much appreciated!
funsway
View Profile
Inner circle
old things in new ways - new things in old ways
9987 Posts

Profile of funsway
The Gozinta box that produces different colored balls will work. Inexpensive and confabulating.

the enigma of the boxes is puzzle enough, but the continuous production of balls a magic interlude.

Simple to master, but there are better alternatives to the offered routine. PM me if this is the direction you might do.
"the more one pretends at magic, the more awe and wonder will be found in real life." Arnold Furst