The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Where do I go from here? (6 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3 [Next]
Yekrats
View Profile
Loyal user
Dayton, Indiana
209 Posts

Profile of Yekrats
Hi there, folks - long time lurker here. I would like to level-up my magic career, but finding myself in a rut.

I've been doing magic as a part-time professional since 2012, and my business seems to be doing great in some ways, but at the same time plateauing in other ways. Basically, my strategy up til now has been using word-of-mouth advertising and a couple of websites, and Gigmasters / Thumbtack. I don't like those guys, but I do it because it's still somewhat profitable. Since I work a full-time job, I really can only handle about 2-4 gigs per month before I start getting crazy with too much work. So, I'd like to make those count.

I live in the Midwest. Can I talk frankly about financials? I will - Last year I made about $500-$600 per month on average, usually about 1-4 gigs per month. If I do family shows, most folks around here wince if it goes above $250 - $300. I prefer to do adult corporate shows, and prefer to do mentalism, which gets me $300 - $750. Even so, from time to time I take some bottom-feeder gigs in the $150 range. I did some busking for fun and practice for less than $100. Sometimes I feel that I'm wayyyy underpricing myself, but how to get my name out there?