The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Best business cards for 'moves' (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

stevie c
View Profile
New user
9 Posts

Profile of stevie c
Hi everyone. I hope this is the correct forum to post this on. I'm pretty new to MC so if not please let me know straightaway and I'll remove.

I currently have a couple of routines that use business cards, and require simple 'moves' similar to what we sometimes do with playing cards. Without saying too much, for anyone familiar with AB's 'underhanded' you'll know the type of 'move' I mean.

I'm hoping for some advice on whether there is a 'gold standard' type of business card for this type of work (just as some playing cards are easier to work with than others), or do people use a range of cards depending on personal preference??

I currently use standard matte business cards, of a standard thickness.

Any help and advice is very much appreciated.

Thanks all.

Steve
Last Laugh
View Profile
Inner circle
Grass Valley, California
3348 Posts

Profile of Last Laugh
Usually glossy cards will do what you want, though some matte ones will too. Unfortunately it's going to vary from printer to printer so it's hard to really say. I got a batch from Vistaprint a few years ago that were called matte, but they had really nice action. When I changed my design and had more made, using the same settings, they were totally different (I guess they changed their materials).

For the most part, glossy will work well though. If you want matte or semi gloss, you can usually ask the printer for samples. There are definitely some that work but there are also some that are prone to clumping, which you definitely don't want. As far as thickness goes, I prefer 16pt, though if you want to fold or tear them you may want to opt for 14pt.

Best of luck.
My Mentalism Podcast:
The Mystery Arts Podcast

Check out my products!