The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Lippencott box question (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

bobinsdakota
View Profile
New user
71 Posts

Profile of bobinsdakota
Hello everyone,
You can see by my posts I'm a newbie and learning valuable info on this forum all the time.
I'm wondering about Lippencott boxes...is that just the person who invented it?
I'm looking for a locked box to have a coin or ring end up in after vanishing it.
Is there one that you'd suggest over another for quality.
After doing some research I'm a bit confused if they all do the "same thing".
Thank you
jimgerrish
View Profile
Inner circle
East Orange, NJ
3209 Posts

Profile of jimgerrish
As Spellbinder describes in his e-Book "The X-Box" (Mini-Mysteries Book 4-07) the Lippencott box is a variation of the "Watch Box" described in Professor Hoffmann's 1876 book "Modern Magic." Then he proceeds to show you how to perform the same trick with any ordinary locking wooden box from any craft shop or Dollar Store for a lot less money. So you're right, all wooden boxes can be made to "do the same thing." The difference is how much you are willing to pay for one. His premise is that if you have the skills needed to make a coin or a ring (watch, wallet, i-phone, etc.) disappear, those same skills can be used to make it reappear in any bag, box, or container of your choice.
BCS
View Profile
Inner circle
1083 Posts

Profile of BCS
Hey bobinsdakota... The Lippencott Box is a great piece of apparatus. If you are going to invest in one make sure to get a good one, the quality of the boxes out there vary greatly.