We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Food for thought » » Dress Rehearsal and Performance (25 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3~4~5~6~7 [Next]
magicalaurie
View Profile
Inner circle
2847 Posts

Profile of magicalaurie
How many do a dress rehearsal these days? It's a very important and helpful part of the process and journey to performance. Videos welcome of either and/or. Smile

I'd like to start with an illustration from Elvis Presley's Aloha Concert, "final performance" of which was broadcast live worldwide in 1973. He filmed a dress rehearsal concert which is also known as the Alternate Aloha Concert. See the step up from the dress rehearsal to the live broadcast. That step up (raising stakes) was something I was keenly aware of when we went from dress rehearsal to performance when I studied Theatre Arts in College. I think Dress Rehearsal is something that many performers might skip these days, and it shows. Here's Elvis:

Ray Pierce
View Profile
Inner circle
Los Angeles, CA
2416 Posts

Profile of Ray Pierce
It's a very different process doing a "dress rehearsal" for a TV show as this is typically shot as a back up in case anything in the main show doesn't come out right. SNL does this as well. On the other hand, me taking the time to do a full dress rehearsal of a show I've done for 20 years or longer might be a little less than vital. As an example, when I do an "It's Magic" Show for Milt Larsen, each act typically gets about 30 minutes to set all the cues and logistics for their act. It is a painstaking process to make sure the crew is all connected for any specific cues.

On the other hand, when I'm doing a live book show with all new cast members, the dress is vital as we need to confirm there are no costuming issues or changes that need work. It is always better to find out then and adjust rather than at a live performance.