The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Food for thought » » How to handle "grabby" spectators? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
dboeren
View Profile
New user
Atlanta, GA
16 Posts

Profile of dboeren
I am a beginner learning card magic, and have been performing some very basic effects for my friends and fiancee (after plenty of practice, of course).

As horrible as it may sound, many of them are "grabby". That is, they will suddenly try to snatch the cards away from me to look at them. I assume they have some pet theory they want to confirm about how I'm doing the trick.

I'm sure I don't have to tell you how amazingly rude this is. I'm sure none of them would do this to a magician at a restaurant because he is a "professional", but because we are friends they seem to feel like they are entitled to do whatever they want. People at work do not seem to do this, just more personal friends and significant others.

What can I do about this? I've heard some lines to say when people ASK how you do something, but I've never seen anyone address people who actually try to grab the deck away from you.
mysticz
View Profile
Special user
D.C. metro area
680 Posts

Profile of mysticz
First, review how you are presenting your magic to your audience -- if your approach is one of "look at what I can do" or your magic is presented as a puzzle, often the spectators will spend their time trying to figure out how you are accomplishing the trick instead of enjoying the performance. And occasionally some will try to examine your props (sometimes in a very rude manner). If so, one answer is to frame your effect in a more audience-friendly presentation that entertains rather than puzzles.