The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workers » » Paul Le Paul's "Aces Up" (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

TeddyBoy
View Profile
Veteran user
New York, NY
304 Posts

Profile of TeddyBoy
Hi. I am a 65+ yo newbie with a question. I was wondering if anyone is familiar with the ace transposition, Aces Up, presented on p. 203 of the Card Magic of Le Paul. My question is in regard to the finale where the top card of the deck is shown to be indifferent, followed by transposing the final ace from the bottom of the deck to the top using the side-steal. In his description, Le Paul writes:

"During this operation the bottom card (the ace) is transposed from the bottom to the top of the deck by means of the side-steal. Photos 5 and 6 show how the side-steal is executed SIMULTANEOUS with the action of turning the top card face-up and then returning it face-down, the palmed card being deposited on top of the deck."

Needless to say Photo 5 and 6 are woefully inadequate in providing the actual details necessary for this transposition. Even more puzzling to me is whether or not the two acts can actually be done SIMULTANEOUSLY. I cannot even imagine how this can be achieved simultaneously--side-stealing the bottom ace WHILE turning over the top card and turning it back again.

My obvious lack of experience and skills aside, have any of you performed this trick?

Any input, suggestions or sympathy will be appreciated because it really is a nice transposition.

Thanks for your attention.
So many sleights...so little time.
Cheers,

Ted
Tortuga
View Profile
Special user
Ballwin, MO
526 Posts

Profile of Tortuga
Shouldn't this question be in the "Banquet Room"? The public forum is not for discussion of methods. Having said that, yes, I believe the actions can be done "simultaneous".
Zauberman
View Profile
Loyal user
229 Posts

Profile of Zauberman
Hello Ted,
Yes and no Smile
The top card is turned over First.