The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Overcoming stage fright (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

dschmunis
View Profile
New user
Hillsboro, OR
79 Posts

Profile of dschmunis
Hi,

Does any one have some good advice, books, resources, courses, exercises, etc to help overcome stage fright? To clarify: by stage fright I mean a general fear of performing. Where it's 1:1 or for small groups.

I've been studying magic for a few years but I consider myself a "closet magician". That is, I practice and only "perform" for myself (not even my kid or my wife have seen me do tricks).

I know some of the common advice is to learn our tricks until we can do them drunk and I have a few of those, but I'm always wondering if they and if I AM good enough and being a bit of a perfectionist I tend to thing that my routines need more work - of course, I know that this is only an excuse that I make up to justify not putting my self out there to perform, and YES make mistakes in front of an audience (probably the best teacher after perfect practice).

So, any advice? Don't have any aspirations to make a living with magic but after all the years, books and money invested in this wonderful hobby it would be great to be able to at least perform for friends and family.

Best,
D
TheMetalMagician
View Profile
New user
63 Posts

Profile of TheMetalMagician
I have a similar problem. I can practice a trick by myself a dozen times and get it right, but as soon as I get a camera pointed at me my fingers turn into butter-coated jelly.
karnak
View Profile
Special user
Colorado
608 Posts

Profile of karnak