The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » How long to practice an effect before first presentation (9 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Alfred Borden
View Profile
New user
55 Posts

Profile of Alfred Borden
As a beginner I am curious.
How long/often do you practice a new effect/trick, before you present it to an audience for the first time?

Thanks.
WitchDocChris
View Profile
Inner circle
York, PA
2614 Posts

Profile of WitchDocChris
Until it is completely second nature.
Christopher
Witch Doctor

Psycho Seance book: https://tinyurl.com/y873bbr4
Boffo eBook: https://tinyurl.com/387sxkcd
Mr. Woolery
View Profile
Inner circle
Fairbanks, AK
2149 Posts

Profile of Mr. Woolery
It partly depends on what you consider an audience. I’m a casual performer. I don’t do it for money. That means I have less to lose if I’m not getting the most entertainment value from a routine. I do think the only way to get good at performance is by performing. You must be able to do the mechanics of anything you do (including verbal direction, not just physical trickery) without having to think about what to do next. That’s a must. Practice that and any screw-ups you can imagine someone making until you are confident and sure you won’t mess up. Then go find someone to show it to. You won’t know how it plays until you’ve done it a bunch of times and smoothed out the rough edges.

A small blessing of social isolation right now is the opportunity to practice. Unless you have kids. Then you don’t even get to form a coherent thought.

Patrick
John C
View Profile
Eternal Order
I THINK therefore I wrote
12968 Posts

Profile of John C
After a while and with enough experience and the gift of explanation and gab it takes no time.

The time it takes is to get comfortable with the prop. I can take something I’ve putzed with for a few days do a club gig and add it in at a few tables with no problem.