The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workers » » Classic Pass Question (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

TeddyBoy
View Profile
Special user
New York, NY
595 Posts

Profile of TeddyBoy
Good evening, I hope everyone is staying healthy during this !@#$**g pandemic.

I am an old newbie that has just finished viewing (for the first time) Jason England's video on the pass. Jason indicates that when performing the pass the top packet should be less than one half of the deck (i.e., the lower packet is the bigger one). I also recall Richard Kaufman's DVD stating the same, as well as at least one other text source that I cannot recall at the moment. However, other sources do not give this instruction, which makes me think it is not a particularly useful suggestion.

My question is whether or not you, as a classic pass practitioner, follows the instruction on the top packet being less than 1/2 the deck. If you have an explanation I would love to see it. I always thought it does not matter what the relative sizes of the two packets are. I get more speed when I follow this rule, which is a good thing. However, I wonder if there is any consensus on this issue.

Thanks.
Ted
So many sleights...so little time.
"Slow...deliberate...natural." Bill Tarr

Cheers,
Teddy
Ray J
View Profile
Inner circle
St. Louis, MO
1503 Posts

Profile of Ray J
Quote:
On May 6, 2020, TeddyBoy wrote:
Good evening, I hope everyone is staying healthy during this !@#$**g pandemic.