The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Eugene Burger advice (12 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
TeddyBoy
View Profile
Veteran user
New York, NY
385 Posts

Profile of TeddyBoy
In Mastering the Art of Magic Eugene Burger stresses the importance of focusing on the performance skill of the magician, and writes as follows:

If you have already been into magic for a year or more, you already know too many tricks. And this knowledge-coupled with the endless desire for still more, more, more- is surely one of the great enemies of good magical presentation.

I am a newbie hobbyist who loves learning new material and has no plans to turn performer. However, for amateurs and professionals that do perform, do you agree with these comments or are they too severe with regards to learning new material? I would never simply ignore the advice of an artist of Eugene Burger's stature, but I would think performing the same stuff time after time becomes quite monotonous. How do you go about incorporating new material and how often?
So many sleights...so little time.
Cheers,

Ted
Russo
View Profile
Special user
So.California / Centl.Florida
836 Posts

Profile of Russo
Been doing the SAME show for 60 years (?) - BUT - if you had a tape of 1st performance and last performance - QUITE DIFFERENT - I think it's because I don't OVER THINK It - gradually, year by year, new ideas - old ideas - dropped ideas. Did what the Audience and Self, was comfortable with. RR
TeddyBoy
View Profile
Veteran user
New York, NY
385 Posts

Profile of TeddyBoy
Wow!! Sixty years and the only thing to change was the delivery? Didn't you ever, at least, get interested in new material?
Cheers,

Ted
Mark Williams
View Profile
Elite user
Las Vegas, Nevada
483 Posts

Profile of Mark Williams
Eugene's words ring true if you read this article...
https://getpocket.com/explore/item/how-t......to-learn