The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Shuffled not Stirred » » Mem-deck effects based on red/black effects (6 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Nikodemus
View Profile
Inner circle
1174 Posts

Profile of Nikodemus
Hi
In his essay Memories Are Made Of This, Simon Aronson mentioned the power of splitting the deck into two halves of your stack (eg 1-26 vs 27-52). This means you can do lots of effects that would traditionally be done with a red/black split - but you don't have to hide the faces. The arrangement is only known to you.

I am very interested in this concept, because I know I can get to this split arrangement in an impromptu situation, but not to a full stack setup. I am reluctant to use The Subtle Game because I think it might be too obvious.

I am pretty new to magic (well, second time around actually). so the problem is I don't have the background knowledge of what all those great red/black effects actually are. Does anyone have suggestions please?
FYI my ability with sleights is limited, but developing. I can do a Spread Cull, basic DL (but not DT), false shuffle, EC. Can't do things like Pass, Top Change etc. So would like effects that are not too challenging in that regard.
Basically I want the secret split to do the real work.

Thanks!
effkay
View Profile
New user
15 Posts

Profile of effkay
Very interesting and I’ve thought about this too. I haven’t managed to come up with anything that the mem deck can’t do stacked anyway.

The advantage to me is to be able to shuffle the two halves and divine a card when moved from one to the other.

I’d be interested to hear thoughts from others too.
JBSmith1978
View Profile
Veteran user
NY
389 Posts

Profile of JBSmith1978
Harry Lorayne has published some great red/black, odd/even, points, rounds etc.

I would hit up the Conjuring Archive.