The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » How do I make magic flow? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

notasperfectasyou
View Profile
New user
DC Metro Area
32 Posts

Profile of notasperfectasyou
I'm a beginner, but a determined beginner. This is my first thread!

Spot the problem: I did a little miracle for some friends using an invisible deck and they loved it and wanted to see more magic. So I pulled out a different deck that was gimmicked with double backed cards and did a second miracle. I followed that with a third effect with two other gimmicked decks that I had a card disappear from one deck and appear in the other deck. Then someone says, why do you have to switch the decks?

I'm having fun learning new magic, buying stuff on the internet and practicing, practicing and practicing somemore. But, the more magic I buy, the greater the problem I now see - how do I string these things together so it makes sense? Clearly, what I have been doing says "there is a gimmick to all this so I have to switch the decks I'm using". That don't flow and it really spoils the intention of the magic. I'm not trying to be a pro. But, I want to be able to present 3-4 miracles together for friends and family (and maybe on occasion for others).

Part of me thinks I need to make a bridge between effects, maybe do something with a deck of cards and then do something with a quarter, and then do something with a different deck of cards. But, that also seems cluncky. Are there books, or dvd's about this? Am I thinking about it all wrong? It seems that needing to have 4 different decks of cards with me to perform 3 differnt effects is way less than ideal. I just want to be able to polish this up a bit. Thanks for any advice you have. Ken
jim ferguson
View Profile
Loyal user
Ayrshire, Scotland
284 Posts

Profile of jim ferguson