The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » All in the cards » » Wanted - amazing effects based on a Stacked Deck (4 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Nikodemus
View Profile
Inner circle
1172 Posts

Profile of Nikodemus
I am pretty new to magic. I have mastered some basic sleights (cull, some forces, false shuffles false cuts, basic double lift etc) and keen to progress.
I can't do anything super-advanced (pass, top change, faro etc.)

But I have learnt a stack (Joyal, 6 Hour).
I am happily exploring lots of stack-independent effects.

I just read this thread -
https://www.themagiccafe.com/forums/view......orum=205
It has an intriguing post (from Cohiba) that suggests that if you want to create a stack, you should start by choosing ONE mind-blowing stack-dependent effect you will build your stack around.

So my question (as a newbie) is what effects would people recommend???
Doesn't need to be totally self-working, but needs to be achievable without knuckle-busting skills.

ALSO - the stack must of course appear random. So this would seem to rule out something like Further Than That.

Getting the deck into NDO order from random would be pretty cool - so long as it didn't need faros like in Mnemonica

Thanks.
NIK
landmark
View Profile
Inner circle
within a triangle
5194 Posts

Profile of landmark
Simon Aronson's The Invisible Card is a great memdeck routine to start out with. It will really help you to get your confidence with a memdeck and it blows people away. It's pretty much the Invisible Deck with an ungaffed deck. It's in Try The Impossible:

https://www.penguinmagic.com/p/11322
Nikodemus
View Profile
Inner circle
1172 Posts

Profile of Nikodemus
Thanks Landmark,
Invisible Card is a great effect - but I already know it. Maybe I under-estimate its impact, but it doesn't seem to me to be a real mind-blower.