The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » LGBTQ Magicians + Patter (74 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3~4 [Next]
taranwandering
View Profile
New user
9 Posts

Profile of taranwandering
Hi Everyone!

I'm pretty new to learning magic-- it's such an amazing art! I'm building patter for some basic tricks I've pieced together and/or picked up, and I'd love to develop some patter related to my LGBTQ background. I can't think of too many magicians who bring this into their act, so I'd love if anyone can think of some examples. In general, I'm interested in learning more about magic history, especially where it intersects with LGBTQ identities.

Thank you!
davidpaul$
View Profile
Inner circle
Georgetown, South Carolina
3094 Posts

Profile of davidpaul$
With respect, what does it matter? Just entertain. Why does sexual orientation have to be interjected. People are people and for the most part, like to be entertained and amazed.
Just my opinion.
Guilt will betray you before technique betrays you!
gaddy
View Profile
Inner circle
Agent of Chaos
3528 Posts

Profile of gaddy
Quote:
On Feb 21, 2021, davidpaul$ wrote:
With respect, what does it matter? Just entertain. Why does sexual orientation have to be interjected. People are people and for the most part, like to be entertained and amazed.
Just my opinion.

It's entirely valid to talk about this subject, if the magician and the audience want to.

I say go for it. It's a subject that hasn't had a lot of "exposure" Smile so there's a lot a lot of ways that this could be approached, @taranwandering. Have fun, and good luck!

For a short while, I used one of Gazzo's lines in my street show: "I'm not gay, and I should know! I've tried it 10, maybe 15 times- and it's just not for me..."
*due to the editorial policies here, words on this site attributed to me cannot necessarily be held to be my own.*
taranwandering
View Profile
New user