The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » Rope magic for kids ?! (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Fila
View Profile
New user
57 Posts

Profile of Fila
Hey hello everyone !

I’m pretty new to kids show but I was doing stand up for the past 10 years !

Trying new things / going out of my confort zone hehe

But I realized that my rope routine wasnt okay for the kids ( flip / sanders routine )
Too complicated

What kind of rope magic you can do for kids ( they can easily follow ) ?!

Maybe a rope thru body kind of routine ?!

Any advice / reference is welcome

Thx a lot
Russo
View Profile
Inner circle
So.California / Centl.Florida / retired Florida
1167 Posts

Profile of Russo
Yes, rope through body (I usually use two Pirates and a Princess), through neck, cut & restored, stretching, wrist tie, soooo many.
Dan Ford
View Profile
Special user
Illinois
754 Posts

Profile of Dan Ford
Professor's Nightmare and call them snakes.
Fila
View Profile
New user
57 Posts

Profile of Fila
Thx for the advice !

didn't think about doing the simple and classic professor nightmare with a presentation !

You really think the rope through neck is a good idea for kids ?!
Russo
View Profile
Inner circle
So.California / Centl.Florida / retired Florida
1167 Posts

Profile of Russo
No - sorry I suggested - was just thinking about rope effects. There's one called the Indian Rope effect - half of the inside of a rope is removed and replaced by a strip of solder. It can be held limp - then half can be made to stand straight up. Same thing can be done with a handkerchief, with a straighten paperclip (or solder) in part of one hem . Placing ones thumb by the clip, can make it lay down and back up - spooky. Again I had a lot of fun having 2 Pirates (boys) holding the 'ropes through body' around the Princess (girl) and YOU, the Wizard 'pulls the ropes and Princess escapes.
Dan Ford