The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Monthly practice schedule (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Imaginationalist
View Profile
New user
7 Posts

Profile of Imaginationalist
I wouldn't call myself necessarily new to magic but I am new to trying to improve and get the most out of any trick I perform. I was considering for 2023 to pick a type of magic or routine to work on for each month of the year. So a few questions related to that.
1) Does that even sound like a plausible plan/method to utilize? I do know that every so often, maybe every month, I need to go back over whatever I have learned previously to keep it in my mind. I've learned (and forgotten) too much already.
2) I know this is going to sound like a jack of all trades comment, but I truly don't think it is. My real desire and focus is to improve my mentalism, not really mental magic, but stuff like Richard Osterlind, Doug Dyment, Scott Creasey, Paul Voodini so for this should I work on learning individual moves or utility moves (billets, nail writing, learning and practicing readings) or would it be better to use complete routines and learn the moves in the course of the routine? Thinking about it, the stuff I'm able to do now and feel confident with has been things I learned as routines and had to learn the moves to do the routine but I'm not dogmatic enough to think it has to necessarily be the best way. For the jack of all trades part, I'd also like to learn some of the classics (currently working on Aldo Colombini's Cups and Balls routine) and don't really desire to shun magic completely. I do fill in at a magic theatre (not as a performer but backstage and doing some close-up stuff before and after the show) some so that will always be a part of my life as well.