The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » What's the name of this effect: anti-gravity coin or what? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

erictan8888
View Profile
Special user
Singapore
517 Posts

Profile of erictan8888
Hi,

I recently saw a magician performing this effect:
he had a coin held in his right hand. He placed his left hand above his right hand, about 10 inches above. then the coin floated up into the left hand that was saboce his right hand. Its like the rising card effect, just done on a coin, and the coin rose about 10 inches in the air into his left hand!!!!

just need to know: what is the name of this effect? where can I learn this? I am guessing, but it seems like invisible elastic thread is used here... I am not sure, just guessing...

sorry for such a simple question, I am a newbie in coin magic....

thanks for yiour help
eric Smile
"Fill you life with magic by making magic a part of your life." by eric tan.
Imperistan
View Profile
Regular user
Holland
106 Posts

Profile of Imperistan
It is called the Muscle pass, and it is pure sleigth of hand. Search around the internet, and you will find the explanation. Needs much Practice

Imperistan

[Edit: Stupid Questions don't exist, once I didn't know that too, and I had to learn it too, so ask everything you want, but search the forum. Much question are already answered.
Dark
View Profile
Elite user
406 Posts

Profile of Dark
You can learn it at coinvanish.com, go into the foundations section. It one of those sleights where its easy for some and impossible for others.

Good luck.
Mediocre the Great
View Profile
Inner circle
Rich Hurley
1060 Posts

Profile of Mediocre the Great
I have a question... what do you mean by actually the coin "floating"? Are we sure what Eric saw was a muscle pass? Usually the muscle pas is referred to as "falling up" becuase it does pop up very quickly.... I wouldn't call it floating up.