The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Disclaimer (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

carly
View Profile
New user
29 Posts

Profile of carly
How would you define a disclaimer?
R2
View Profile
Special user
935 Posts

Profile of R2
"I am going to do this, but don't hold me responsible for the effects on your mind, personal property or your health!"

"Please don't try this at home. I am an experienced professional!"

"Watch but don't try!"

You get the point? I hope.

A statement which absolves you of any responsibilities for someone trying to emulate what they have just seen
and consequently causing damage or personal injury to themselves or others because of a failed attempt is also one way to define the word "Disclaimer".
mattisdx
View Profile
Inner circle
1614 Posts

Profile of mattisdx
It's a warning, like on jack***. Smile
Terry Holley
View Profile
Inner circle
1805 Posts

Profile of Terry Holley
In the area of mentalism, an old Robert Nelson disclaimer went something like this:

"I claim no supernatural powers nor help from supernatural agencies; but I do claim that just as radio transmits the voice, and television the picture, so too the mind transmits the thought."

Terry
Co-author with illusionist Andre' Kole of "Astrology and Psychic Phenomena."
jimtron
View Profile
Inner circle
2039 Posts

Profile of jimtron
Webster's would define it thusly:

Dis*claim"er, n.
1. One who disclaims, disowns, or renounces.

2. (Law) A denial, disavowal, or renunciation, as of a title,
claim, interest, estate, or trust; relinquishment or
waiver of an interest or estate. --Burrill.

3. A public disavowal, as of pretensions, claims, opinions,
and the like. --Burke.
Lee Marelli
View Profile
Special user
Aurora, Colorado
876 Posts

Profile of Lee Marelli
A disclaimer in Mentalism would be defined as follows:
It does not exist!
"Mentalism is a state of mind." Marelli
Bill Palmer